2022/23 Awards

At the end of each season, the Club holds an award presentation ceremony. Every athlete receives a medallion and a certificate listing their achievements for the season.

Special awards are then given to outstanding Stormers athletes across four categories for each age group.

  • Most improved The athlete who has come along significantly from their first session of the season. Not necessarily the fastest, farthest etc, but who has improved the most.
  • Age Managers Award (This is the athlete who has regularly attended, listened to instructions, exhibited the behaviour and values encouraged by the Club and has led by example, so not the fastest etc)
  • Merit Award (This award is to recognise the highest performing, all-round Athlete in each group. It is a combination of fastest and farthest, not just someone who is strong in one event, but who is strong across all the events)
  • Sportsmanship Award (Awarded to the athlete who regularly encourages and supports their team mates, and provides a noticeable weekly contribution to the ethos of the group)

The 2022/23 season award winners:


Most Improved

Age Manager Award

Merit Award

Sportsmanship award

Under 6

Charlotte Berry

Sophie Askenov

Eleanor Harvey

Clark Houlihan

Under 7

Gilbert Lacey

Londyn-Belle Taurima

Hegalo Teofilo

Imogen Dalla Costa

Under 8

Matilda Gavidi

Blake Everett

Archie Swaffield

Alan McRae

Under 9

Zachary Watt

Cohen Okkonen

Kyla Mumberson

May Shaw

Under 10

Riley Jones

Tariq Meehan

Teuila Teofilo
Zoe Rushby

Caroline Dokter

Under 11-12

Lucy Olsen

Bridget Tilyard

Makayla Timm

Cooper Rushby

Under 13-16

Elspeth Smith
Ava Cuthbert

Alex Fillingham

Gabbie Iglewski

Blake Bretton
Millie Thomas

Stormers Club Person of the Year 2022/23

This award is to recognise an athlete who regularly demonstrates the Murrumbateman Stormers spirit. This includes attributes such as sportsmanship, determination, resilience, participation and enthusiasm, and can be awarded to anyone across all of the age groups.

Our nominees this season were:

  • Kyla Mumberson
  • Makayla Timm
  • Ella Meehan
  • Grace Smith
The Stormers Club Person of the Year 2022/23 – Makayla Timm

Volunteer of the Year

Someone who has given the Club much of their time in contributing to the function and success of what we do. There are a lot of quiet achievers among our volunteers who put in considerable amounts of time for the betterment of our Club.

Nominees this season were:

  • Rob Amerasinghe
  • Tim Watt
  • Adam ‘Grounds keeper Willy’ 
  • Kris Butler
Volunteer of the Year 2022/23 – Tim Watt

Tim has been volunteering with the club as an age manager since the beginning. He always has such a happy energy, never misses a session, reads all the material, always gets involved with his age group (often laughing along doing stretches or warmups with them) learns all the kids names, is generally a fly under the radar type of guy and a valued member of our team. Thank you for all you have contributed to the Club Tim.

Club Champion

The Club Champion perpetual trophy is awarded to the athlete with the highest average per event over the season. The point score takes into account gender and age against the recorded result and to be eligible, the Athlete needs to have a minimum attendance across the season. This means the Club Champion is the Stormers highest performing athlete for the season.

The 2022/23 Murrumbateman Stormers Club Champion is Teuila Teofilo
Awards Archive

Murrumbateman Sponsors